Q&A with Emily Wibberley: Forsworn Blog Tour

Hi guys!! So, I’m really excited to be part of Emily Wibberley’s blog tour, and to have done a Q&A with her! Read it below, learn a bit about her, and enter the Last Oracle giveaway!

1. Did you always want to be a author

 

I would have to say I never really let myself think about becoming an author when I was growing up. There have been quite a few writers in my family, and I wasn’t exactly jumping at the chance to fill those shoes—that is, until I realized how much I love it.

2. Who/What inspired Clio

 

The inspiration for Clio really came from two places. Her powers as an oracle came from Greek mythology. More specifically, I looked at the prophet Cassandra, who was cursed to see futures she could never prevent. But Cassandra is ultimately very powerless, and I knew my heroine couldn’t be like that. For her spirit and kick-butt attitude, Clio is greatly influenced by Buffy from Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

3. What is your favorite line/quote from the series?

 

I’m so bad at this haha. But if I must choose, I like this bit from Forsworn. I can’t say who says this for spoilery reasons…

 

Hating you— it’s like trying not to breathe. Against every fiber of my being. And it hurt, it burned. I was suffocating, Clio. I was suffocating for a year. And when I saw you, you were the air to my starving lungs.

 

4. What is a book that you love, that you wish more people would read?

 

So many! I love The Arcana Chronicles by Kresley Cole, Red Rising by Pierce Brown and The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey. Go check them out if you haven’t! They might make you cry but it’s the best kind of crying.

5. When the not writing, what are some things that you enjoy to do?

 

Reading, of course. Other than that, I like to run, hang out with my two German Shepherds, watch movies and eat lots and lots of Mexican food.

6. Who is one author, living or dead, that you’d love to meet?

 

It would have to be Jane Austen. Pride and Prejudice is one of those rare novels that is really perfect is so many ways. She was so ahead of her time in so many ways. Also, she was beyond sassy for her day.

7. Clio is a strong female character. Who are some of your favorite female characters in books?

 

Since I did just mention Pride and Prejudice, I would be remiss if I didn’t herald Lizzie Bennet. And while we are at it, let’s give Emma Woodhouse from Emma some praise as well. Jane Austen knows how to write a sharp wit! Along the same vein, I love Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre. If we go really far back, I admire Sophocle’s portrayal of Antigone in his Theban plays, especially considering just how ancient this text is, and yet it still gives us an autonomous and intelligent woman. I can’t possibly ignore Hermione Granger—I’m pretty sure she was a role model for my entire generation. I’ll also throw in Clarice Starling from The Silence of Lambs because I secretly want to be her (hence the psychology degree).

8. What can we look forward to seeing next, in Clio’s journey?

 

I’ll be starting work on book three in the series very shortly! As of right now, I’m planning for it to be the final book in the series, but I never know where the story might take me!

About Emily

image

Emily grew up in the South Bay where she spent her formative years battling zombies on her Xbox, watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and voraciously reading everything from The Hunger Games to Jane Austen, where her love for feisty young heroines was born.

After graduating from Princeton University Magna Cum Laude in 2014, she began writing. Her debut novel, Sacrificed, was named a finalist in the Young Adult category of the 2015 International Book Awards, the Young Adult category of the 2015 Beverly Hills Book Awards, and in the Young Author category of the 2015 Next Generation Indie Book Awards. Since its release, Sacrificed has spent more than four months as a Kindle Top Ten Teen and Young Adult Bestseller.
When she isn’t reading the latest YA book, Emily enjoys watching kick-butt action movies with her two rescue German Shepherds, Hudson and Bishop, named after characters from James Cameron’s Aliens.
Sign up for her mailing list to hear about exclusive giveaways and news about the upcoming release of The Last Oracle III as well as other young adult books she’s writing.

Rafflecopter Giveaway

<a href="http://a Rafflecopter giveaway

“>http://a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

